• Sam26
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sZTrFpl09s8

I'm posting an interesting video I found on Youtube, and I would be interested in hearing from philosophy majors in particular, but also others, in terms of how you view philosophy, and how its helped you.

My own view is that I wouldn't change a thing, i.e., if I had it to do all over again, I would still major in philosophy. Although I must say that I've learned much more philosophy in the past ten years than I learned while I was a student majoring in philosophy. I've been retired, so of course I have more time to think, read, and study philosophy.

I use to think that writing and arguing were a waste of time in these forums, but I've had to re-think this, because being exposed to the thinking of others has actually sharpened my philosophy skills. And while it's true that much of what's written in these forums is silly, including some of what I write, it still makes you re-think some of the things you take for granted. It also sharpened my writing skills, but not enough, because I'm never satisfied with my writing. When I write I usually have to edit what I write about 10 times to get it right, I'm not naturally good at writing, and to do philosophy really well you have to be able to write clearly and precisely.
  • Mitchell
    to do philosophy really well you have to be able to write clearly and precisely.Sam26

I wish all philosophers would agree with this.
  • Ciceronianus
    Long ago, I was a philosophy major. I became a lawyer.

The members of the philosophy department at the college I attended were devoted to analytic philosophy, ordinary language philosophy and pragmatism. That orientation wasn't uncommon at the time; perhaps it's not uncommon now. Regardless, the philosophy they taught emphasized the close study and careful use of language, logic and skillful argument. It's served me well in the practice of law.
  • Sam26