• S
    ...supported by Sapientia demanding I have a PhD to post anything and that my knowledge on the subject was not even adequate - who then followed me into another OP and continued the attack.MikeL

And that's your impartial assessment of how the situation unfolded, is it? Quite preposterous.
  • MikeL
    Case in point.
  • S
    Case in point.MikeL

What? I should not have called attention to the one-sided and misleading nature of your account of the events?
  • TimeLine
    Accordingly, my moderation priorities are directed towards filtering sense from nonsense, and kindness from unkindness, more so than spelling from mis-spelling, philosophy from non-philosophy, educated from ignorant.unenlightened

I think the site is doing well to find this balance you mention above and no doubt sometimes mistakes are made in ascertaining the correct application of this filter, but I believe each of you are willing to listen and that is the first and most important aspect to moderation and shows a sense of being humble that I respect. This thread is an example of that.

In saying that, each of you have a level of expertise that differentiate and I think that it is important to close those existing gaps by pulling more focus on this expertise. The level of absurd posts in the philosophy of science is an example of where this gap is clear that causes me to avoid it.

It is not poor conduct. If you think you are a wonderful musician but you sound like a damaged trumpet, having experts in the field tell you that you sound like a damaged trumpet may hurt your feelings, but it is probably a reality check that you need.
  • S
    With regards to the suggestion that we ought to send a message before deletion, I raised it in the moderator forum, and, after consideration of the pros and cons, we took a vote and unanimously voted against it as a general rule of thumb.