• Noble Dust
    I'll start a seperate thread tommorow.MysticMonist

It doesn't necessarily need it's own thread; as mentioned, the question is fundamental to your question about suffering.
  • MysticMonist

Javra,
    Hello! Thanks for the welcome.
    I'm using the title of Platonist myself but the forum has helped me realize I don't exactly fit in that category. I don't "neo"Platonism because Plotinus would have said he was a Platonist and I'm mainly studying Plato and Plotinus.

I agree completely on the erotic aspect to mysticism. I write Rumi style poems about God that aren't PG. I also think there's a place for sensuality in spiritual practice. Enjoying a cup of tea, fully enjoying it mindfully, can be a way of showing gratitude for the many gifts from God. Romantic love with a spouse too.

I'll flush out more of a thought experiment. As I said before you live off $10,000/year or less to include rent and utilities but perhaps not health insurance (it's very expensive). That's less than minimum wage full time earnings. Try to live a cheaply as possible and have no luxuries, use all excess income to donate to worthy charities sectetly and don't brag about your austerity. Would the happiness of knowing your helping others outweigh the loss of desired luxuries? If you had a starving child in front of you and choose between a DVD for yourself and a bowl of rice to give, it would be a no brainer and would be rewarding to give. Would your worry about finances or status or promotions disappear? Obviously monks already do this but they require on the charity of others to sustain them and also devote their time to prayer or charitable work and have other vows beyond poverty. What if you worked a normal career but knew a good portion of your salary went to others and not yourself? Again my wife would probably veto this idea, so it's just a thought experiment.
  • javra