• Fuji
    Greetings!

I am a high school student that is directly heading towards the A-levels and as part of my final exams we have to prepare a presentation in one subject, which is Philosophy (+ Poltical Science) in my case.

So, I am very interested in the concept of (Left-wing) Accelerationism. Correct me if I am wrong, it is the idea to overcome capitalism by accelerating scientific and social progress through dissolving the boundaries of capitalism and neoliberalism. Even more broadly speaking, it is a concept on how to reach a future society that is said to benefit (or save) humanity.

My teacher states it would be 'too poltical' and I should include another major philosophical theory. And here is the problem. Since I don't know many more philosophical theories than the ones we had in class, I struggle to find an appropiate one which can be used to explain and/or be compared or opposed to accelerationism.

(Speculative) Realism, pragmaticism, nihilism...? I don't know.

I would really appreciate a helpful answer! :)

• Shawn

You can piggy-back over what modern techno-utopians think about this concept manifest in the form of super-intelligent AI, called the singularity. Or you can provide some economic analysis of the deflationary power of technology on most realms of life.

There's a lot of material; but, I don't have the expertise to recommend any books that would serve that goal. Try reading some of Ray Kurzweil's books on the concept of a 'singularity'.
  • Shawn
    Oh, and to answer your question, I'd say something of the sort of 'logical positivism', 'scientific positivism'...
  • Fuji

Thank you very much for your quick responses!
    I will definitely take a look into what you've proposed.
  • CavacavaAccepted Answer
    Nick Land dismisses left acceleration/right acceleration for unconditional acceleration. Here is his latest statement.

Read him with a grain of salt.
  • fdrake
    @Fuji

What got you interested in accelerationism?
  • Cavacava