• Mark Marsellli
    Dear Forum,

I am a trade editor who has long enjoyed pursuing “big picture” stories. I joined your group because I want to pose a question to your members may be of interest as it combines a real world matter (a trade case) and the role of the concept of fairness (truth).

This matter is about international trade law, but that is the backdrop, not the focus here, as there is an essence to this whole process that could be commented on, and that has to do with the definition of “truth.”

Here is a brief explanation. An ongoing trade case is being pursued by four U.S. domestic wire rod producers that claim exported wire rod from 10 countries is unfairly priced so low that it threatens their businesses, and they want antidumping penalties to be imposed. Domestic wire manufacturers oppose this action as they say it will mean higher prices for them, and that they will have trouble competing with their counterparts in other countries that have access to the lower-cost wire rod. Both predict horrible outcomes for the industry if their side does not prevail.

The Department of Commerce does not consider the potential “downstream” impacts in its deliberations, just the supporting facts in the petition that was filed.

Both sides have scads of details and arguments as to why their claims are true…yet their “findings” are totally opposite. Attached is a PDF (very rough) that summarizes the key points each side is making.
    Again, you are not being asked to decide which side is right or wrong. Rather, we are interested in your perspectives.

Can two sides with conflicting views of truth both be right? If so, does the concept of truth remain? Can one side’s truth can be considered a greater truth that subordinates a lesser truth? Or, is the essence of a truth that it is a truth, and as such cannot be made less of a truth by another truth?