• n0 0ne
    I'll start with my own answer. I reason about it till I'm more or less at peace with it. I contemplate it fairly often. It allows me to take life a little or a lot less seriously. I have one foot in each dimension, if you will.

One comfort has been that I see myself in others. My personality is only 1% irreplaceable snowflake at best. As a would-be writer, I can squeeze this 1% into words and obtain not immortality but increased lifespan. (The species will go extinct, so no real immortality even for that 1%.)

My other comfort is that I expect nothing from death, literally nothing. I don't mind nothing. It's not that death is bad in itself, but only that death is the end of a game I am invested in, the game of being me. Since I expect aging to diminish the joy I take in this game, death will theoretically be welcome as an escape from the indignities of aging.

*Also I'm always moved by stories of individuals facing death with style.
    1. How you those of you who not believe in an afterlife face death/ (12 votes)
        I'm immortal, so it's not an issue.
        17%
        I reason with myself until I can more or less make peace with it and mostly don't think about it.
        25%
        I reason with myself until I can more or less justify it --and do this often.
        8%
        I sorta want to die. The problem is facing life?
        33%
        It scares me. I try not to think about it.
        17%
  • dclements
    I use to think about it often when I was younger but luckily too busy to be bothered by it as much now that I'm older, but to be on the safe side I try to not think about it since it is something that I know I can not really figure out on my own. In this way I guess my position is sort of a 3 in some ways and a 5 in others but I voted 5 since it is the best answer to this problem if you don't believe in an after life.