• Shawn
    This is one of my rare threads in the Logic and Philosophy of Mathematics section. Please be aware that I am not a professional academic talking about logic; but, rather a layman trying to better understand the intricacies of logic and, in this case, Gödel numbering in discrete ordered systems. With that said, I look forward to some understanding if my terminology is incorrect, and if my point is ambiguous, or in other words, please bear with my shortcomings in logic.

I have tried to understand Gödel numbering in systems of existing logic. I made a point about Gödel's Incompleteness Theorem, saying the following;

Gödel's incompleteness theorem applies to formal languages with countable alphabets. So it does not rule out the possibility that the alphabet can add Gödel numbering to account for new variables and even rules, or according to Douglas Hofstadter's GEB, 'isomorphisms,' within the system itself.

I would like to expand on the type of isomorphisms I have in mind. Now, would it be possible to translate the information that one would utilize from Gödel numbering into a isomorphism, such as something so simple as algebra or linear algebra? I say this because I find it perplexing whether certain logical systems can be compressed, or according to my understanding - rather, a more concise format of information being encoded. I can't provide any examples at the moment; but, I would like to ask the interlocutor whether they think that by creating an isomorphism between a discrete system, such as the color encoding of RGB, into algebra or linear algebra, then can one achieve a more concise way (if not already done so) to encode enumeration of logical processes, in terms of decidability?

Sorry if what I might be saying is unclear, and I hope any questions can clarify and vagueness or ambiguity.

Thanks,
    Shawn
  • tim wood
    Sorry if what I might be saying is unclearShawn