• Ciceronianus
    From time to time, I've wondered what art is, what an artist is, what the Philosophy of Art or Aesthetics is, for that matter. I'm a novice when it comes to these questions, but I very nearly derailed a thread by bringing this subject up, tangentially at best, and was duly challenged by others I hope will participate in this one.

Someone claimed philosophy is art. Being a mischievous sort, I suggested this did a disservice to art. Philosophers aren't artists, and when they try to be, they fail, miserably I think.

Believe it or not, I've complained in the past regarding the Philosophy of Law. I've wondered what it is, and what business it is of philosophers to attempt to explain the nature and purpose of the vast ocean of laws and the associated rituals employed in their application; an ocean in which I've sailed for too many years. I don't know the answers to those questions, but I've thought that the practice of law is something that should figure in their consideration.

Maybe that's as good a place as any at which to begin. Should what artists do in creating a work of art figure in what considering what art is, or what a work of art is, or what an artist is?

Law and art are different things, though. Lawyers qua lawyers don't create the law, though they may assist in the creation of laws. They're instruments or functionaries of the law; they're part of the system that is the law, they figure in its application and operation. Artist create works of art. We don't speak of art as a system. Artists don't "apply" art. They make it.

One would think that artists, who make art, should know at least how to make it. Is that what Philosophy of Art is about, though? Does it address how to make it? I'm not sure, but don't think so. Does it critique art? Is it intended to explore the relationship between art and those who experience it?