• Arbü1237
    I have a hint of a clue but I can’t make up my mind on a definition. I’m new to philosophy and I have this question. Is there any books on creativity I should know about?
  • Arbü1237
    “Unusual” I can understand but “original” seems unimportant. I can be creative with redundant resources. Creative seems like a quality or some possession that attributes unusual and original actions. Creativity is like the bulb and the work is the light it produces.
  • Beverley
    “Unusual” I can understand but “original” seems unimportant.Arbü1237

Does anybody produce 'original' ideas?
  • Philosophim
    Creativity is the ability to come up with ideas that few if any other people come up with. Positive creativity results in a new idea that other people like or benefit from. You can be creative, but it doesn't mean your idea will resonate with others or contribute beyond the fact that its original.
  • Lionino
    “original” seems unimportantArbü1237

If you are not original, you are not creating.

Creative seems like a quality or some possession that attributes unusual and original actions. Creativity is like the bulb and the work is the light it produces.Arbü1237

Creative and creativity are the same word but with different morphological classifications, like beautiful and beautifully, wind and windy.
  • Arbü1237
    Open-minded seems important to creative definition.
  • Vera Mont
    It's the ability - and willingness - to look at the world, or something in the world, from an unusual perspective and to rearrange that perception and translate it into a medium in a form that communicates the different perspective to other people. I realize that's not a very good sentence; I was trying to avoid 'originality' and 'novelty'.