• Terrapin Station
    I work as a musician, composer and arranger.

I have degrees in two fields, one of them music theory/composition. So yes, my job utilizes part of my education.
  • Terrapin Station
    Re the comments about people making 80k per year struggling, it can be a challenge to live on that income in some parts of the U.S., especially in metro San Francisco and metro New York City. That's because real estate is pretty outrageous in both locales. You can find cheaper accommodations further from the main urban areas, but then commuting costs (and time/stress/etc.) kill you.
  • Agustino
    But it's not punishment, it's a fairer method of being able to implement a policy which will be a benefit to society.Sapientia
    Why is it fair?

No, that's a terrible idea. That would be elitist. Decisions should be made in the interest of those who will be effected by them, not in the interest of a privileged class at the expense of the less well off.Sapientia
    I never said decisions shouldn't be made in the interest of those who are affected by them. They should. But those who make decisions should know what they're doing. How do they prove they know what they're doing? By their track record. If you're paying millions in tax, clearly you have a clue what's going on economically, while the person paying £5,000 has less of a clue (generally - of course it doesn't always hold true).

So? These things are obviously of great benefit to society as a whole, and they're essential for most. The needs of the many outweigh the interests of a privileged minority who don't have to rely upon these vital public services.Sapientia
    I agree.