• Isaac
    Quite a sweeping generalization!BC

Isn't it just!

I have a typical formal education - bachelors degree and a masters degree. Quite a bit of the bachelor degree education was good instruction. I liked it. I learned quite a bit. The masters program was a credential generator--not a fraud, but not very good, either.BC

Graduate teaching is often different because the students have volunteered to be there, it's in a subject they've chosen to pursue, and most of the effort is on them. It's not my target.

I have known a few self-taught individuals, and their intellectual accomplishments are impressive. But not everyone has the talent, early on, to guide their own education. I certainly didn't.BC

Yet...

A lot of what I have learned between graduating from college and retiring, I learned through my own effort.BC

... you underestimate yourself.

I certainly didn't. Most people don't. That's why we "educate".BC

To you have any cause to believe that, have you tested it, or read of anyone having done so? Is your ground for believing it sufficient to imprison children against their will and punish them for failure to comply?

Education is not 'intervention'; it is a basic necessity to all intelligent life-forms.Vera Mont

As above, do you have any grounds for this claim or is it just idle speculation?

I wouldn't recommend setting a young wolf free in the wild without teaching it how to hunt and how to relate to other wolves. I wouldn't recommend setting up shop as a carpenter, without first learning how to use a saw, an adze and a chisel.Vera Mont

Learning and teaching are two different things. I can learn carpentry without being taught carpentry.

I do advocate for safe, clean, respectful and inclusive public schools from kindergarten through college, trade and technical school and university, accessible to all students, at all levels.Vera Mont

I know. I'm not unclear on what you advocate, I'm unclear of the grounds on which you do so.