• Moliere
    I thought it'd be fun to throw out ideas about science together. And I put this in the lounge to say I welcome all thoughts on science. (it's a philosophy board, though, so someone may ask a question or something ;) )

Now-a-days I'd say science is a profession tailored to the economy. I want to figure out how to tie it to Marx, duh, and so call it knowledge-production. I think it's pretty close to Kuhn's notion of normal science, which also I think is a pretty good description of science generally.

I've mentioned I work in a lab, and I've occasionally mentioned chemistry because it's related to that. One of the things I feel about science is that it ought be more accessible. As a starting place maybe it'd be nice if public libraries had access to academic journals. Taxes go to pay for that research after all. It should be accessible.
  • Sir2u
    Now-a-days I'd say science is a profession tailored to the economy.Moliere

Would it not be the other way round? The economy being tailored to science.

As a starting place maybe it'd be nice if public libraries had access to academic journals.Moliere

You can get a lot of information from academic journals on the web, but not the ones that contain the information that is moving the economy.
    But the question there is, how many people would actually be interested in reading them? Not too many i believe.
  • Moliere
    Would it not be the other way round? The economy being tailored to science.Sir2u

I'm interested! One of the reasons I thought to start the discussion was the hash out various meanings of "science".

Care to say more?

You can get a lot of information from academic journals on the web, but not the ones that contain the information that is moving the economy.
    But the question there is, how many people would actually be interested in reading them? Not too many i believe.
    Sir2u