• Yohan
    I recall on a thread before someone saying they don't feel comfortable calling themselves a philosopher.

I'm wondering what you fellows out there do feel comfortable labelling yourselves.

I think of myself as a comedian and a scientist (not an empiricist, but in the sense of being an observer and applying diligent rigor in attempts to avoid error, and considering anything I believe tentative)

(I actually consider most scientists by profession to be philosophers more so than scientists. Thats another discussion...)

Philosopher, no so much. What a scientist is, is relatively clear to me. "Philosophy" I find elusive. Also, as much as I would like to love wisdom, Im not sure if I really do. Its more that I seek wisdom as a practical matter to avoid ruin, than out of love for it. I think foremost I love scientia (knowledge)
  • Agent Smith
    I no longer wish to be a philosopher - an ugly, annoying Greek (re Socrates)!
  • Yohan
    I want to clarify what I said about scientists.

I want to take it further. I think science and philosophy should be given each other's label.

Love of wisdom is more about understanding and pragmatism. This is how a lot of us view science. A way to understand the world, which gives us an ability to predict results, and gives us a pragmatic upper hand. Someone who understands things, and can predict outcomes, and makes balanced pragmatic choices, I consider a wise one, a philosopher

Science, knowledge, should be about seeking definite knowledge. It has nothing to do with theory (understanding). Throw away theory and focus only on what are certain about. Descartes approach to me represented the ideal of science, getting to the bottom of all beliefs to what one can be sure of. Socrates I also consider to have been a scientist, in realizing he knew nothing.
  • Yohan
    I no longer wish to be a philosopher - an ugly, annoying Greek (re Socrates)!Agent Smith
    "No refunds" - Socrates
  • 180 Proof