• OglopTo
    What you fail to see is that what you say about the nature of human life does not present the one 'correct' view, but is merely the projection of your state of mind onto the world.John

Isn't this a given for everyone? Does anyone really know the 'correct' view? Aren't we all just projecting our own states of mind onto the world?

The questions posed stand on themselves and we have to make do with what we have to try to answer them, e.g. whether trying to invoke the transcendent or inherent goodness or not. Either approach is but a projection of our states of mind to the world. Neither is absolutely 'correct' nor 'incorrect', only 'makes sense' or 'does not make sense' in view of the purported assumptions.

The point is, for me, comments like this steers away from the really juicy discussions. It's my first time to use such terms in discussions but maybe this is what they call a red herring, "something that misleads or distracts from a relevant or important issue" (wiki).

The Stoics were concerned precisely with how to transform the state of mind and thus transform the view of the world.

Your mischaractization of the Stoics is thus the result of trying to push a simplistic opinion about something you obviously have no experience or understanding of.
    John

What does calling out one's expertise on the subject matter attain in light of advancing the debate? Do the arguments presented get invalidated/watered down when the proponent is inexperienced?

Rather than focusing on trying to understand where the arguments are coming from and providing rebuttals, the attack is on the credibility of the proponent. Maybe this is what they call ad hominem, "directed against a person rather than the position they are maintaining" (wiki).

----

TLDR: What is your intention in posting this comment? How did it contribute to the discussion?