• Yohan
    This is a thought stream, ok?
    I'm only an amateur conceptualizer.
    Don't get offended if I give a wrong account of your world view.

What we see are only the appearances of things. When such appearances are mistaken to be the things in themselves, we become materialists. (Matter(appearance) is essence)

Concepts are maps of appearances. When those maps are confused for the things they map, that is Idealism. (Conceptuality/mind is essence)

Logic can only eliminate falsehood. It disproves. It cannot explain what is but only what ain't. (I'm repeating myself...hmm). When logic is mistaken as positive rather than eliminative, you become a rationalist

So then, how to "reach" essence?
    The only path left may be intuition.

I believe every "path" uses Intuition, logic, and observation with different degrees of emphasis.
    Spirituality emphasizes intuition.
    Philosophy emphasizes logic
    Science emphasizes observation

It seems that the more one falls from the essential, the more one has to rely upon more indirect means.
    Intuition is most direct, logic/reason less direct(further from essence), while sensory observation is furthest.
  • Hermeticus
    the power or faculty of attaining to direct knowledge or cognition without evident rational thought and inference — Merriam-Webster dictionary

Both logic and ideals are developed over time through experience. A baby learns through intuition - so both rational as well as idealistic thinking is attained through intuition.

I'm not sure why sensory observation would be furthest away though. My intuition tells me that while matter may not be THE essence, it certainly comes off as quite essential.
  • Pop
    It seems that the more one falls from the essential, the more one has to rely upon more indirect means.
    Intuition is most direct, logic/reason less direct(further from essence), while sensory observation is furthest.
    Yohan