• Pauchxk
    Hi all;
    I'm currently studying Metaphysics of Mind, specifically Epiphenomenalist Dualism, and in my most recent lesson we talked about Wittgenstein and his 'private language' argument, as well as the 'beetle in a box' thought experiment. I can understand the concepts themselves, but where I get stuck is on how they connect to each other, and how they connect to Epidualism and Solipsism. Is it a critique? Is it a response to a critique? Any thoughts would be much appreciated.
  • Hanover
    No specific response for you just yet, but I know there is a similar discussion here
  • Pauchxk
    Thanks! I'll check it out.
  • Antony Nickles
    To radically simplify: If I understand ED, there is a distinction between the physical and the non-physical, and that the physical (body activity) has a casual effect on the physical and non-physical.

If I have this correct, it is a jumble of concepts. First, simply because the body does all the things it does, does not make a movement an action. We need all the history of our lives, along with the procedure of the act (say, apologizing), plus the context it is expressed in, to recognize it as that "action"--waving hi, pointing, etc. So to say apologizing is a physical act is partial, as well as saying the physical is the "cause" of the apology, as we want a "cause" in order to skip over the public nature of the history, procedure, and the responsiveness that is necessary to have it accepted as/be an apology (Witt calls these, "concepts"). We want to ensure (beforehand) that my cause makes (I make) the action what it is, have the "meaning" it does, makes it certain, or ensure it works out predictable, universally, without my being responsible for my expressions. This is where people start talking about "solipsism"--or that I control, judge, or value everything, as it were, personally (without history, our lives, language, etc.)