• JohnLocke
    I like to observe and reflect on my observations of society. One of the biggest changes. have noticed in society is the use of technology as a replacement for traditional modes of human communication. For example, I am a student and much of my studying and communication is conducted via assistive technology such as Zoom. This change is largely a consequence of the pandemic and lockdown. It raises all kinds of ethical problems relating to technological discrimination and so on. One of the biggest problems I have with using technology to communicate is that it attempts to blend all of society together, kind of like a homogenising force, and spread out all of humanity onto a flat disk, like spreading butter on a piece of bread...

To thinly spread out all of humanity this way has many consequences which are very subtle and not noticeable because they transcend the act of doing what the technology is designed to do, which is to facilitate communication, but that act of communication in this new style has many indirect consequences and the most obvious one I worry about most is ORIGINALITY... Communicating via technology is a further step towards the implementation of technology into human day to day life and society, as a consequence of the technological revolution, but this is not how humans have communication historically and I worry that it will have grave implications for the progression of humanity as a productive and creative species. For example, I would argue that by placing all of humanity onto a technological communicative structure such as online communication like social media / zoom and so on diminishes original communication, constraints the essence of creativity and formulation and discovery of new ideas, thoughts and ultimately is a block to individual progression and thus the progression of the human species.