• Ciceronianus
    This comment really deprives this debate of any significance.Hanover

Okay.
  • James Riley
    This would rescue positivism because the overall purposes of the body of law as a whole need not be aligned with any external morality.Isaac

I don't think anything can rescue positivism. Reference to the body of the law as a whole, or the spirit, or whatever you want to call it, is reference back to Natural Law. We generally look to our organic documents for that, and they themselves are founded upon reason and what we "feel" is right.
  • Ciceronianus

I've been a lawyer my entire adult life--or, at least, what passes for a lawyer in the uncouth, rude, semi-savage region in which I practice. It may surprise you to learn I've appeared not only in what we call circuit or county courts, but in the appellate courts of this state. I've even, from time to time, put on my best suit, hitched horses to my wagon and traveled to the big cities to appear before the Federal District and Circuit Courts which hold sway here, where one might spend a lifetime searching for a spittoon and not find one. Truth to tell, I've even litigated matters involving constitutional and civil rights issues over the years.