• Acyutananda
    I have little formal background in Western philosophy, but I'm under the impression that in Western philosophy, propositions such as "'2 + 2 = 4' cannot be proved, but rather rests on intuition" and "'A square must be rectangular' cannot be proved, but rather rests on intuition" are rejected, or considered true but trivial. If my impression is correct, I would like to know why such propositions are rejected, or considered true but trivial.
  • TheMadFool

2 + 2 = 4

I I [2] + I I [2] = I I I I [4]

:joke:

I thought we're at liberty to define mathematical operations to suit our needs. There's nothing true/false about a definition, it just is the way we decide it should be.

Also, to my knowledge, intuition isn't "rejected" outright in Western philosophy. It's validity as a useful tool in solving problems [what else is there for us to do? :sigh: ] is widely acknowledged even though we're completely in the dark about how intuition works. The fact that we have near-zero knowledge of intuition is a major stumbling block in advocating it as a reliable technique for problem solving. Nevertheless, some people seem to have a knack for it or perhaps it's just blood, sweat, and tears masquerading as intuition.
  • Tzeentch
    I I [2] + I I [2] = I I I I [4]TheMadFool

I = ?
  • javi2541997
    I I [2] + I I [2] = I I I I [4]TheMadFool

I would put exactly the same but as fingers. 2 plus 2 equals 4 because we literally count it with our hands. I guess this is the best proof.

I = ?Tzeentch

I guess @TheMadFool referred as sticks but it also works with counting with your own fingers. This is the most solid proof of why 2 + 2 equals 4.
  • Tzeentch
    I guess TheMadFool referred as sticks but it also works with counting with your own fingers. This is the most solid proof of why 2 + 2 equals 4.javi2541997

Sticks, fingers, luxury yachts. They don't answer the question of what is one.
  • SimpleUser