• synthesis
    Can you describe how you live your life to minimize their omnipresence/omnipotence.T Clark

I take as much personal/professional responsibility for my own actions. I am extremely independent.
  • synthesis
    Can you describe how you live your life to minimize their omnipresence/omnipotence.T Clark

Let me give you an example...

I am a practicing physician. If you were my patient, I would educate you to the best of my ability and then give you choices (and discuss those choices in great detail so you can make the best decision for yourself).

Do you believe that this is what the health care system would like me to do?
  • T Clark
    Do you believe that this is what the health care system would like me to do?synthesis

I don't think the health care system would mind you doing that, they just won't pay you for it.

I don't begrudge you your principles or your life. It just seems like you would have a bit more understanding and sympathy for how hard it is to live your life outside the system as it is. Especially given that you work in health care, one of the professions most involving large institutions and bureaucracy.
  • Tzeentch

I think you will find what all these destructive groups share, is exclusive group identity, and that is the more likely culprit, rather than groups themselves.

Exclusivity feeds the ego, the "us vs. them" mentality. Instead of helping an individual to self-actualize, such groups pull individuals away from it and try to replace the self with the group identity.
  • synthesis
    I don't think the health care system would mind you doing that, they just won't pay you for it.

I don't begrudge you your principles or your life. It just seems like you would have a bit more understanding and sympathy for how hard it is to live your life outside the system as it is. Especially given that you work in health care, one of the professions most involving large institutions and bureaucracy.
    T Clark