• Isaac
    You need to get out of your armchair more and engage with actual people.If you do that you will realize that most people have a reasonable moral sense.Janus

You do realise I literally study people for a living?
  • Janus
    You do realise I literally study people for a living?Isaac

So what? Everybody who engages with people and has a critical mind studies people constantly. Doing it for a living only makes it more likely you will be predisposed to bias in my experience.
  • Pfhorrest
    Do you think they realize they’re not thinking critically? — Pfhorrest

No, not if they are not thinking critically.
    Janus

So people who are not thinking critically may nevertheless think that they are thinking critically.

So merely thinking that you're thinking critically doesn't guarantee that you are in fact thinking critically.

If we asked both you and the aforementioned imaginary neonazis whether each of you hold beliefs grounded in good evidence, and whether each of you are thinking critically about those beliefs and that evidence, both of you would say yes about yourselves, and no about the other. If words meant what you say they meant, both of you would consequently say that your own beliefs were common sense, and the other's were an ideology.

I don't know why I'm letting myself get bogged down with arguing this angle with you. It doesn't matter whether "ideology" really means what you say it means or what I meant by it. All that matters is that you understand what I meant when I used it earlier. I think you do, and this conversation about my choice of words is entirely beside the point. Substitute whatever word you want in place of "ideology" in my OP, whatever the superset of "ideology" and "common sense beliefs" is, whatever your general word for "worldview" or "set of beliefs" or whatever you want to call it is. You must understand by now what it was I meant, and quibbling over the phrasing is just a derailment.
  • Isaac