• WISDOMfromPO-MO
    Is it the case that all disagreements come down to Metaphysical beliefs (and faith in those beliefs)? Is it possible to come to any agreement on any issue, when the root issue is Metaphysics?anonymous66

I am not an expert on the work of Ken Wilber--I have only read "A Brief History of Everything". And I am aware that somebody who reads this is likely to respond with something like, "Ken Wilber is a New Age quack!". But the way that I understand it, Wilber has spent much of his life trying to integrate all of the intellectual traditions from every corner of the Earth from every period of history and prehistory.

Maybe he is nothing more than a quack. Or maybe he is a philosopher in every best sense of the word who simply has no home in academia or mainstream intellectual circles. Or maybe he is something in between. Or maybe no matter who or what he is, his work is a failure.

Or maybe he is onto something.

Either way, his work that I have read is enjoyable, fascinating, a valuable tour of intellectual history, and packed with fresh, original (to me, anyway) insights.

Maybe I am mischaracterizing his work--again, I am nowhere near being an expert. But I would characterize it, based on my initial impression, as saying, "Rather than trying to ferret out and evaluate everything, let's integrate everything into a coherent whole". It might be worth stepping outside of the philosophical canon and giving Integral Theory some attention, if you haven't already.
  • Rich
    So is his statement not true? Does quantum-mechanics not contradict the notion of an objective physical world that exists independently of us?

I don't claim to be able to answer that, but I just re-emphasize that that author was someone with impressive credentials in quantum-mechanics. I should find the book, name the author, and quote the passage, but it was a long time ago. Obviously a quote without the name of the author, or his exact words isn't very compelling.
    Rich