• TheMadFool
    As a novice myself I've read a handful of introductory books on logic. All these books always have a chapter devoted to fallacies, mistakes in reasoning. We're then repeatedly told to avoid making these mistakes if we are to be truly rational in our thinking.

Keeping the above in my mind let us now consider the theory of evolution whose basic message is we retain and pass to our progeny traits with survival advantage. If this is true am I wrong in inferring that our minds, its processes (including fallacious thinking) are life-critical traits we should be actually cultivating and reinforcing instead of avoiding and purging from or minds?

To give strength to my view let me illustrate with some examples:

1. Fallacy of affirming the consequent.
    The above is a fallacy in deductive logic. Consider the following argument:

If a lion is in the bushes then the leaves will rustle
    The leaves are rustling
    Therefore there's a lion

While the fallacy is apparent it appears very very reasonable to use this form of inference if you were a deer or any other prey animal. It could make the difference between life and death.

2. Fallacy of hasty generalization. This is also a fallacy but think yourself as a deer. Seeing one tiger attack and devour another deer should be logically sufficient to realize tigers kill deer. In such cases NOT committing the fallacy could prove fatal for the deer.

These are just a few cases where fallacious thinking is life-saving. There could be others.

If you agree with all I've said until now don't you think we're making a mistake in so confidently blacklisting so-called fallacious reasoning?
  • Chany
    No. Logic is a systematic way of dealing with propositions and their truth value. You don't get to say a rule of logic is bad or a fallacy is good just because false beliefs might generate a positive outcome.
  • TheMadFool