• Bacchus
    I've just finished Against Method, and it seems that Feyerabend captured my thoughts on science's place in society, and the so called scientific method itself. I'd like to find more thinkers like him, and engage with more material on the topic. I'm very new to philosophy of science and looking for thinkers and works to expand my knowledge.

For those that are unfamiliar, Feyerabend's thesis on science in society was that although science was once liberatory, it has become increasingly dogmatic and rigid, and thus become an ideology in and of itself. Furthermore, science has started to attain some oppressive features, fallaciously positioning itself as the only legitimate vessel for the attainment of truth, like the Catholic Church in the Middle Ages, when it is really just one way of attaining truth among many others, like philosophy or religion. On that basis, he asserts that the exclusive dominance of science as a means of directing society in the contemporary West, to the exclusion of other aforementioned paths to truth, is not only authoritarian, but completely ungrounded.

On the so called scientific method, he holds that there are no useful and exception-free methodological rules governing the progress of science or the growth of knowledge. More than that, the very idea of the operation of science by fixed, universal rules is unrealistic, pernicious, and detrimental to science itself.
  • tom
    I have not encountered any scientist who follows, or credits her discoveries to following Feyerabend. The opposite is true of Popper. Several Nobel Prize winners attribute his method to their discoveries.

Furthermore, there may have been advances to Popper's method in the service of one of the most difficult areas of scientific research, in this brilliant paper. https://arxiv.org/abs/1508.02048. I have not encountered any similar progress with Feyerabend.