• Joshs

I'm a therapist who deals with sexual issues, and while I don't deny the value of psychoanalytic tools,
    I find the core sexual problems clients deal with arent a matter of needing to act more appropriately such as to conform better to social mores, and I dont see their issues in terms of a failure to be in touch with reality, but rather a need to understand themselves and others in their own terms more effectively.
    I take a primarily constructivist approach, which sees the individual as constructing his or her own world via their intersubjective interactions in culture. There is no one way causal relation between self and world(the culture behaviorally determining personal belief, or the individual projecting their construals onto the world) .Gender roles arent simply imposed by culture onto individuals in a top-down fashion but also make sense to many of them relative to their own larger worldviews(female Trump supporters dont understand what the fuss is over harassment, since in their view men will be men. This patriarchal notion makes sense to them not simply because they were blindly, unconsciously inculcated with this idea, but because limited, rigid assignment of behavioral gender roles is a necessary starting point for the evolution of understanding of gender in general.

This movement from relatively less differentiated, and at the same time less integral, concepts of self and other to to progressively richer and more adaptive constructions is I think a general trajectory in cultural and personal development.