• Wayfarer
    We saw Hidden Figures last night, about three African American women who worked in NASA during the 60's, and played crucial roles in the first manned space flight. Fabulous film, excellent performances, historically accurate, and a first-rate soundtrack to boot. Also some great portrayals of life before de-segregation, and the way that African Americans, and women, were so routinely patronised in the early 1960's.

One nit to pick - kind of a blooper - right at the beginning, a screen came up with the legend, 'THIS FILM IS BASED ON TRUE EVENTS'.

There are no 'true events', of course. It might have been based on a true story, or on actual events, but events can't be true. (Hey I'm a technical writer, I notice these things.)

BUT - don't let that stop you - absolutely great film, the central character is a marvellously gifted mathematician, perfectly portrayed by a great actress. Five stars.

• TheMadFool
    What is the difference between ''true events'' and ''actual events''?
  • Wayfarer
    In that context 'truth' is a predicate of statements. An event can't be true, but an account of an event can be true (or not true).
  • TimeLine
    Just brought tickets to watch this tomorrow after work. Perhaps the storyline itself is not historically accurate but it is true that there were three African-American women who worked at NASA and to do this during a period of great difficulty for both women and African-Americans is just... (Y)
  • Wayfarer
    It is pretty accurate - dramatized, but based on real characters. And what characters. I'm sure you'll really enjoy it.
  • Thorongil
    How do you know it's historically accurate?
  • Agustino
    How do you know it's historically accurate?Thorongil
    Wayfarer worked at NASA back in the day X-)
  • Nils Loc
    Actual is a synonym for true.

If Wayfarer is the technical writer for the instructions of the recent Yahtzee game I bought he is not to be trusted as an authority.
  • Wayfarer