• intrapersona
    Is it anything akin to writing on philosophy forums? The principle seems the same; read the topic, search related material, find evidence, analyse and finally expound a 2500 word illiterate piece of jargon that doesn't say anything about anything at all really. Do that twice per semester for 4 years and finally you'll get a certificate at the end that doesn't entitle you to diddly squat. Sweet! I'm in!

So, what's itREALLY like then?
  • Michael
    Pretty much that, although there were also end-of-term exams, and a couple of the essays in the first year were only 1,500 words if I recall. I had between 6 and 8 hours a week of actual classes, and in my second year this was spread over Monday - Wednesday, giving me a four-day weekend, so there was a lot of "reading" time. And mine was a three year course, not four.

I used a lot of my spare time (while my friends were busy studying real subjects) learning web development, which is what I actually do for a living now, and training in jujutsu.

That's humanities for ya. God I miss it.
  • bassplayer
    I learnt most of my philosophy in the pub...cheers...
  • intrapersona

What was included in these end of term exams apart from formal logic? Was the whole course hard? Did you struggle anywhere? Where your papers marked with an iron fist?
  • intrapersona

haha I suppose that is the supreme wellspring from which advanced literacy is born.
  • Michael
    The exams were like the essays. I didn't do any formal logic. It was just questions on some notable philosopher or theory. Summarise the views, expound on any criticisms and support, and so on. For the most part I was in the second highest grade range (60-70%) so I wouldn't say I struggled or that they were marked harshly. Heidegger was probably the hardest, but critical thinking was so easy that I finished the 2 hour exam in half an hour and got above the 70% needed for the highest grade.
  • intrapersona